Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

My name is Guillaume Gingras. I am studying computer science at the University of Rimouski in Quebec, Canada. This year, we have considered the issue of finding the queen bee in a hive and decided to make an image recognition algorithm to ease the job of finding the queen bee for everyone using some machine learning. In order to accomplish our mission, we need to gather thousands of images of queen bees. They can be surrounded by other bees also. Using these images will help us teach our computer which bee is the queen bee in the hope to make it easier for a beekeeper to pin point how your bees are doing. That is why I am coming here in the hope that somebody has images of their queen bees. Any contribution of images is helpful.

I would like to add that I am far from an expert in that field and if you think I should know something to better our study, feel free to let me know.

If you would like to contribute to the research, please contact me at:

[email protected]

Sincerely,

Guillaume Gingras
[email protected]

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
to what purpose? to prove you can make an algorithm that can be used for recognition of something else? That i understand. But none of us are going to use a computer to find queens. It takes two hands to take a frame out and taking a picture of it which is then processed by a computer seems a pain. Also.......queens move. So unless its a real time process it won't be helpful.

Now.......if you want to make millions........use your idea to take a picture of a group of bees and count the mites on them. I'll pay you for that.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
>use your idea to take a picture of a group of bees and count the mites on them. I'll pay you for that.