Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am hoping that mr Bush will answer this as well as anyother experts out there I am planning on purchasing a quanity of hives is there a rule of thumb out there or an average of the amount of honey a 5 box hive will produce also does going to 4.9 help with the Mite problem Jim

·
Registered
911 Posts
Im not an expert lol but, OUR observations show the 4.9 helps a ton we have 10 hives right now they are on 5.0 to 4.9 with no mite treatment. They are geting through the winter very nicely. The clusters are all good size but not too big. we also have 10 large cell hive that we treated with OA. They have very small clusters and just look weak.
In your first question if you mean a five box high hive like with 3 deeps of surplus honey figure that in one deep you get about 70-80pd so times that by three you get 240 which would be a lot of honey our hives never filled a deep up that full it does feel like it somtimes. I think in a medium you can get 50-60 pounds of honey per box. Also what are you buying in quanity the hives or boxes or foundation. regards Nick

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,108 Posts
>I am hoping that mr Bush will answer this as well as anyother experts out there I am planning on purchasing a quanity of hives is there a rule of thumb out there or an average of the amount of honey a 5 box hive will produce also does going to 4.9 help with the Mite problem

I don't know if I'm a expert, but from my experience the 4.9 will resolve the mite problems once you have the bees regressed to 4.9mm or below in the center of the brood nest. The first regression of large bees will usually only get you to 5.1mm and that is not enough to resolve the issue.