Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,265 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After foundation is drawn out is there any distinguishable difference between spur-embedded wire or DC-source hot wire embedding?

As a hobbyist, I believe that I can be satisfied using a wax tube fastener and or a spur embedder.

I have some medium frames with starter-strips that I wish I had wired...

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
I wouldn't think so Bee. grab a 9 volt battery and hook it to the wire and see...LOL. Just don't test it on the tongue....

·
Registered
619 Posts
I have some medium frames with starter-strips that I wish I had wired...
Are you saying that you wish you would have run wires under the starter strip even where there was no foundation or just thru the starter strip?

I'm toying with the idea of starting 4 hives next year, two with starter strips and two with full small cell foundation. I was thinking the ones with starter strip wouldn't need any wires, is that incorrect?

~Matt

·
Registered
4,265 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Are you saying that you wish you would have run wires under the starter strip even where there was no foundation or just thru the starter strip?

~Matt
Where there is no foundation...

·
Registered
86 Posts
I am into the building stage and will start my first hives next spring, and reading these posts I have questions about wiring.....I see these 1 lb spools of wire that have 1400 ft, and wonder about how many frames I can wire with this much wire.....also question ?? what do you mean when you say "starter strips"....I'm new into this here, so be gentle. I've been able to buy an electric embedder, and even though I haven't wired a single frame yet, I've put several together using a home made jig (does 10)...and am just feeling my way along.\thanks, dixie

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
18 in x2 if you double the wire(using both slots....

Rough math...38 frames

·
Registered
1,548 Posts