Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a hobbyist beek with 2 backyard hives.

I am in contact with a gentleman who owns a large garden (I think he sells fruit and produce as a business on the side). He has 2 hives on his property, only one of which is currently active. He had a family friend managing the hives (for free) before this person passed away in the fall. He wants someone to manage the hives for him so that he has good polination for his garden.

He said he is willing to pay a reasonable fee for me to manage his 2 hives, but I have no clue what would be reasonable. Here are some details as I know them:

* He would own the bees and equipment
* He is willing to pay for any costs associated with the management (replacement equipment, bees, meds, etc.)
* I don't think he is interested in the honey aspect - he wants good produce. I asked him what the previous person did about honey, and he didn't know.
* He lives about 20 minutes away from my house, so travel time is not extreme.

What would be appropriate to ask for my troubles? I think we could come to an arrangement for the honey (like I said, I don't think he cares about it).

Thoughts and comments?

·
Registered
2,664 Posts
Figure your gas/mileage and how frequently you would need to visit

What % of the honey crop you would get and calculate what your time is worth to you.

Simple math problem really.

On the other hand I would ask what happened to the last beek and why they left.

Its one thing to manage your own bees, if they don't make it then there's no one else to blame....what happens if the bees don't survive? Are you to blame suddenly?

·
Registered
2,532 Posts