Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I asked this question over in the commercial forum, and they suggested asking here for other opinions.

I am a hobbyist beek with 2 backyard hives.

I am in contact with a gentleman who owns a large garden (I think he sells fruit and produce as a business on the side). He has 2 hives on his property, only one of which is currently active. He had a family friend managing the hives (for free) before this person passed away in the fall. He wants someone to manage the hives for him so that he has good polination for his garden.

He said he is willing to pay a reasonable fee for me to manage his 2 hives, but I have no clue what would be reasonable. Here are some details as I know them:

* He would own the bees and equipment
* He is willing to pay for any costs associated with the management (replacement equipment, bees, meds, etc.)
* I don't think he is interested in the honey aspect - he wants good produce. I asked him what the previous person did about honey, and he didn't know.
* He lives about 20 minutes away from my house, so travel time is not extreme.

What would be appropriate to ask for my troubles? I think we could come to an arrangement for the honey (like I said, I don't think he cares about it).

Thoughts and comments?

·
Banned
1,016 Posts
Read it over there. I like the deal myself. If he wants pollenation he may be willing to let you put in a few more hives of your own to make the trip more worth it. Of course then you might run into being blamed if his bees died (claims your bees brought disease or such). You might want to get it all in writing so it is clear that you manage and get the honey - he is responsible for all else include liability and losses of bees.

Also what happens when you need to make splits is he wanting those bees or do you get them?

Mike`

·
Registered
47 Posts