Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in my second year of beekeeping and my dad has become fascinated with it too. He found a feral hive in one of his pastures and for more than a year now has been going down there nearly every day to watch them and he feeds them. I was making swarm boxes this year so we decided to put one down near his hive. We used a plan from one of the other beeks here for an eight frame swarm box. Dad is not a carpenter. So when it wasn't perfectly square he blamed the ply board I picked out. I gave him an old frame of partially drawn comb to put in there and some LGO. He didn't put it out for a long time b/c he just couldn't see how anything would want to live in this out of square box. (I told him the bees didn't care) He had decided to dump some sugar in the box too and apparently it helped because when we checked it the other day there was one heck of a swarm in it and nothing in my sugarless box. I was actually about to bring him a swarm I had caught on Ft. Wood when he said "lets go check the box." Dad's been busy building new fence so he hadn't checked it in a few weeks....I had to do a cut-out. lol VERY healthy hive. He is soooo excited to have these bees!! He just retired so now he has more time to watch them he says. I've lost track of how many times he has told me how excited he is. Those will be some spoiled bees. :) Another addict. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
That's a great way to get started! Now, time to order some bee catalogues from Kelley's, Dadant's, Mann Lake, etc etc so he can get ready to harvest some honey next year! And the catalogues make great fall and winter reading, too! :D
Regards,
Steven

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·