Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to beekeeping. When I set up my hive for the first time (packaged bees), should I do any sort of preventative measure for pests or diseases? Or should I wait until I actually see signs of something. SInce I am new to this, I am not sure I will recognize a potential problem until it is out of hand.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
Welcome to the wonderfully exciting and exasperating world of beekeeping! You probably need to decide if you're going chemical free, or if you're going to treat. That will determine what you'll want to do. There are definite opinions both ways. One thing that might help is to take some time and read the "Point of View" (pov) articles on the home page for this forum. It's listed on the left hand column. You'll find differing opinions there about nearly everything, but a raft of valuable information.
Good luck to you and welcome!
Steven

·
Registered
676 Posts
Being able to recognize that something is amiss is an important skill to have in beekeeping. This is the primary reason that a lot of beekeepers recommend that, when beginning, its important to keep at least two, and preferably three or more, hives. That way you can compare them to one another, and determine which is "normal".

It's also an important reason to work with a mentor, or someone who can help you recognize something is problematic.

In lieu of this, you have numerous sources on the internet, numerous book, and few magazines. All at your disposal; use them. The answers are out there.
-----
Okay. With this in mind, you need to decide WHICH method of treatment works best for your core beliefs. (Did you know you needed core beliefs?):

Do you wish to subscribe to the belief that medications are necessary to keep your bees alive, and are you willing to medicate with drugs and chemicals, which costs time and money, and provides no hard guarantees?