Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!
This is my first post here but have been lurking this forum for a few months and have picked up some great tips. The reason I post now is that I'm panicking abit about one of my hives.

This is my first year keeping bees and I recently installed 2 packages about a month ago. Unfortunately one of the queens never made it and I had to replace her.
I bought a new one through the post and did the slow introduction thing, with the candy and all seemed to go well.

The problem is that today, I opened the hive 10 days after opening the candy on the queen cage, and I was expecting to see plenty of eggs/larve and possibly some capped brood.
While I did find all of these things, including the queen who seemed to be doing quite well and seemed to be being attended by the other bees ok, the only capped brood I could see was drones and the pattern was very patchy. There were about 4 frames with brood, all of which were drones. There are some links to photos I took of a frame at the bottom.
So this is what is worrying me. Is this normal of a newly installed queen? I heard that it can take a week or so for her to get into the rhythm of laying which is what I am hoping, but I'm also thinking there could be some problem with the queen. She is a Carnolian, and I am in Scotland if information is of any use.

Hoping some of you experienced beekeepers can give me some advice on what to do.

Picture 1
Picture 2

·
Premium Member
6,176 Posts
Welcome aboard!