• Other

Votes: 3 1.9%
  • Foundationless

Votes: 32 20.4%
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
i have plasticell and fouondation both. My Nucs were deeps this year and I added plastic and foundation to both. Melted some wax and added to the plasticell, and just put in the foundation and they took off like banshees with the foundation.....havent touched the plasticell again. have had frame 1 in my deep not drawn out for well over a year. Even rotated it in and they still wouldnt touch it.....

·
Registered
34 Posts
This is my first year but I've got about 4 hives from packages. I've started 6 frames with plastic/waxed and have 4 foundationless frames per box. I had no drawn comb to start out with at all this year. I'm too cheap to go buy the drone foundation and like to stretch out the plastic foundation (and my pennies). I've been making sure that all foundationless frames have a frame with plastic foundation on either side. System seems to be going pretty good so far. Even though I've put a guide on the foundationless frames, I think bees will be bees, and don't fully trust them to do the foundationless without further putting the waxed plastic foundation frames on either side. Those frames are theirs to be creative with, be it drone or whatever, but I'm hoping they'll confine it to those frames. (All Mediums)

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Have been using waxed pierco in all new hives and am phasing out old comb (wood with foundation) with new pierco as the budget permits. The advantages are good acceptance, no breakage, easier to scrape tops and bottoms, and cheap.

·
Registered
723 Posts
I may have messed up my vote....
I voted "other" because of how much I have of both waxed plastic and wax foundation. They are so innermixed that I couldn't tell you the percentages. Haven't seen them take to any one more or less than the other.

·
Registered
125 Posts