Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just finishing up my first TBH and a complete beginner.

Here is the TBH. I need to need to nail the campfer strips to top bar, couple hinges/glass for view window, follower boards and paint. So far it is totally free from scraps including ripping the campfer with a power saw....that sucked but make the project more rewarding so I want to keep it going.

For the legs I was thinking of filling 5 gal buckets with concrete and using pvc pipe. The concrete would be topped with water to create a barrier for ants. I am over run with a aphid hording ants in the garden and yard. The bucket might need a couple kicker for wind resistance. Any problems with this idea?

The main questions I have to get it ready are:

1) Legs

2) Entrance locations. I'm thinking multiple with corking options.

3) Bottom. Do I screen or board for my zone or make a option to do both.

4) Viewing window. Is glass ok. I have free scraps.

·
Registered
6,034 Posts
1 - Are you going to bury the buckets of concrete? If not, it really looks like it will tip over in the first 5 mph wind. I like the PVC idea, but I'm also unsure of how well it will stay strong being out in the sun. Seems like it will get brittle and crack/break.

2 - This may be difficult with your lid, but consider the option. http://www.bushfarms.com/beestopentrance.htm

3 - Lots of folks are concerned that screened bottoms cause issues, especially with top bar hives. If you do go with a screened bottom, you must have a way to close it up. And you for sure what it closed up when you put bees into it.

4 - Glass is OK, we used some old windows and cut the glass to size for ours.

·
Registered
252 Posts
1- As suggested by JW, bury the buckets in the ground, otherwise it will tip most likely. And avoid PVC, it doesnt hold up to sunlight too well. a couple of 2x4s would be a better option