Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It has been raining here for days. It is slightly cool (more at night) and wet. I haven't inspected the hive in 13 days because of the crappy weather. The last time I inspected things looked good (2nd hive body had 1 frame of brood and one frame of honey).

Today I noticed an oddity (or maybe just odd to me because I'm a newbie). I had removed the cork from the 2nd hive body when I added it (2 weeks ago) and I noticed today that there is a cluster of bees in the hole. I watched a bee fly in and there is just about a pea size of an opening and the rest is closed up by bees that are clinging together. I couldn't get close enough without getting poked in the eye but I wondered if maybe rain is getting inside? Is it too cold? It has been in the 60's and 70's just yucky wet and some bees come and go in the rain. I had rain in the hive once before and I propped up the back end so that it tipped forward a bit. Just wanted to know if this is something normal or a sign of something I should be looking into?

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
So is the hole in the top cover or just a hole in the side of the second brood box?

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
My two hives are both doing this as well now- I'm going to take a photo, it's cool. A whole bunch of what look to be guard bees lined all around the upper entrance only. They are letting forgagers in and out though, so I'm not worried. Some of them also seem to be applying invisible substances around the entrance and smoothing it with their front feet, though they are not doing the typical 'washboarding dance'.

They all look so oddly still in a bunch all around and inside the upper entrance. A gang hanging from the entrance itself, plus about 30 little faces peeering out the hole, almost motionless.