Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this but here lately my bees are hanging out outside the hive allover the front of the box at first i thought they was swarming and i asked a guy thats been messing with bees his whole life and he said they was to hot and he told me to raise the roof up with 2 sticks and it keeps it cooler but they are still doing it. they stay out all night and even in storms

Please help

Attachments

·
Registered
17 Posts
Mine were doing that in the heat too. Took the dog out at 11pm w/ the flashlight and shined light on hive and was surprised to see so many bees outside. Temps returned to normal and so did the bees.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Indeed hot temps.

Seems the hive saves energy and resources by having bees that are currently unemployed hang out outside instead of inside and creating unnecessary heat that they need to deal with. Also, they might need another box!

Been 90's the last few days and my hives have had massive beards hanging from the top entrances(5-7 inchs long and 3 in thick covering the overhang from my lid/entrance). But today on the cool day we had, everyone was inside and business as usual for them.

It really is an awesome sight to watch however if you have top entrances, the beard covers the whole entrance but leaves 2 1in gaps on the left and right side for ventilation and entrances for field bees.

From what I've seen and learned this year, Bees are quite the masters at regulating temperatures.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Is there room for them to go back into? Pop the top when they are bearding like that and look at the bee density inside and judge. If the inside is jam packed, add a box for them to move into.

·
Registered
7,818 Posts
But why are they not going back in when its raining?