Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,397 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking of placing a swarm trap and trying it this year. It seems like from what people have been saying, placing them in trees is the best.

Now... excuse me for this stupid question. Remember.. I am a chef. Give me a fish and I can cook it.

Give me a nuc to put in a tree and I ask you for the fish!! he he lol

Seriously, how do you put a nuc up in a tree? I would like to use a rope becausem kaing stands that fit in trees is not my trade.

any help or advice?

·
Registered
271 Posts
Chef, I just made 6 traps today, light boxes to fit over a regular deep. I also cut 2x4, 4 pieces/trap at 30 deg. and screw them on a piece of plywood 2 on the top and 2 on the bottom to form 2 “V” of 120 deg. I used a string to temporary gold the plywood to the side of the box for “assembly/tie-up” purpose. Then I used a ratchet tie-down (5 for $10) to lock the box-plywood assembly to the tree. It’s the first time I am doing this and since I’ve heard that it may be difficult to take it down, I also looped a string from 2 bolts on the box over the branch above the box, thinking that if I have to struggle with the ratchet tie-down, the box will hang on that string until I get my hands free to hold the box, at which time I can just cut the string. It worked pretty well on a 6” dia. tree as well as one that’s 2 feet in diameter. If you give me your e-mail I can take some pictures tomorrow and forward them to you.

·
Registered
309 Posts
Chef, I've had good luck putting them in deer hunting stands. Perfect height (usally 15-20 feet up) and easy access. Last year I used an old piece of farm machinery for one. Only could get it up to 7-8 feet but the bees still liked it. Good luck

·
Registered
271 Posts