Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are hoping to start between 4-10 hives next spring. We live in a neighborhood, and state law only allows us to have 4 hives on our 1/2 acre. A friend who lives about a mile away told us we could put hives at his farm, and so did our neighbor across the street. Has anyone done this before, or know of any potential liability issues/problems? :scratch:

·
Registered
94 Posts
It is not uncommon to keep hives on somebody else's property. Matter of fact all of my hives are on other people's farm's. I did keep some hives in an empty field (small field of 1 1/2 acres) and the homeowner said that when ever he tried to cut grass he would get stung a few times and asked that I move them. Moving them was good with me since I found a better place to move those hives. I actually already had the new location in mind and that just gave me the reason to move them there. I have no experience with hives in a neighborhood although I did sell a hive to a man that keeps them on his balcony in downtown Richmond, VA. He hasn't ever had any problems. You might want to consider talking to your neighbors on each side of you and maybe offer them a jar of honey. Maybe a wood fence to keep them behind and out of sight might be good too. Just my two cents worth.
Big T

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
Do a search for this topic on BeeSource. It has been discussed countless times, from suggested contract paperwork to general questions. No need to rehash it all unless your particular questions aren't answered by the search results. Best luck!

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry - not trying to rehash what's already been discussed! Search results didn't show me what I was looking for, but I'll try again. :(

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
Don't worry. If only different questions were allowed on a forum after about a year the forum would simply stop accepting questions and be a called a book.