Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
http://s792.photobucket.com/albums/yy204/screed88/used%20equipment/

I have a friend who wants to start a hive next year. These are some pics of the equipment he wants to use. This hive was actually his grandfather's from a number of years ago and, from what I understand, the bees absconded from this hive. I've never used old equipment before, so I don't have much to go on as far as giving him advice. Personally, I wouldn't use it just because I like starting my bees fresh so I know what goes in the hive.

I looked at nearly all of the frames in the top and bottom deep. In the top deep, I found two separate clumps of crusty bee corpses about the size of a baseball. One was near center and the other was in the right corner.

If he does use this stuff, I'll encourage him to use a SBB. You should see the pile of crud on the BB of this hive.

Other than that, does anyone have any advice I could pass along to him? Should he scrap the frames and start new?

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Now that you have pictures, that looks like AFB & if it is you or him will need to Burn that hive!!! There is even cob webs on the comb, wax moths was probably all over that comb! There is no ventilation at the bottom, looks like black allegia around the hive! Its not good at all if its AFB but it could also be from wax moths! I would burn it! You might get a better answer from someone else but that my opinion!

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Heck no, I'm not planning on using it! I told him I didn't think it would be a good idea, especially not knowing the history of the hive. The equipment has been sitting in his gramp's pole barn for a LONG time. I suggested getting rid of the frames and just using the deeps, but I told him I'd ask around for other opinions.

I agree, he'll be much happier with new stuff.