Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there! This is my first year to attempt expanding my bee yard by capturing a swarm. I setup three traps made of card board nuc boxes I had laying around with two frames of drawn comb and three new frames with foundation. I taped a pheromone lure from Mann Lake to the inside top of the box. These traps were all placed near a friends family farm house that is abandoned and has been colonized by bees for the last 40 years. I figured they may swarm and within two weeks of placing the traps one is now full of bees.

I have a couple quick questions.

1. Pheromone Removal Post Swarm Capture
For those not familiar with Mann Lake's swarm lure, it is a manilla envelope, maybe 3"x5" with 1-2 small plastic viles of swarm lure. After opening the trap I noticed the the entire manilla envelope is gone, the tape is gone, part of the cardboard top is chewed where the lure envelope was taped, and the viles have fallen and are resting between the tops of two frames. My question is, should I now remove these viles and is this normal for the envelope to have been totally obliterated by the swarm? I have not rehived the swarm in to my hive body, and therefore haven't inspected for a queen yet.

2. Feeding
Do any of you feed a swarm after transferring to hive body?

3. Moving
In moving my swarm, how detrimental is it to loose a portion of my field bees by moving the trap around 5-6pm, while there is still some but reduced activity in and out of the trap...because of the rural location a distance from home it is sort of inconvenient to close and move the nuc after all activity has settled down for the day.

·
Registered
477 Posts
Well I usually dont keep in envelope. But yes remove vials and feed them like crazy fast comb builders. If you have to move them then thats the way it is. Stop and have a piece of pie to kill some time or buy some flowers.

·
Registered
4,646 Posts