Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Once, our professor in the bee school told us, that << the bees are not a pet, the bees are a workhorse . Feed them , care for them, but when time comes , get the hell out of them. Do not count the casualties, count the yield in the end. When the war is over, feed them and nurse them till the next battle>>
What do you all think about it?

·
Registered
8,056 Posts
Your horses are probably pets Rusty. I agree in theory Drakos and know that your professor is correct. Since I am a hobbyist now, I tend to go to extremes to save colonies that often should be combined or shaken out. The biggest problem I have always had is worshipping number of colonies! Weak colonies just don't produce. Yield is always more important than numbers.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
That's a foolish distinction.

I am a plant farmer, but I know from being around my relatives and neighbors who are both anmial and plant farmers that the ones with the best success (yields, profits, personal satisfaction, whatever standard you want to use) are the ones who provide "pet"-level care and attention to the needs of their livestock (or crops), without thinking that their livestocks are pets. This is certainly true for the plants I grow and I see no reason why it wouldn't also be true for livestock managers. Back in the Dark Ages when I being trained at university in agronomy and agriculture, it was called stewardship - and was strongly emphasized.

Enj.

·
Registered
685 Posts
I think that in the end your professor is correct.

These are not dogs, cats, horses, mules, or even birds or lizards. They are insects. Insects are not pets. They can't be trained, they don't have emotions, they are simple creatures with hardwired responses. They are interchangeable. If a colony dies, you replace it, you don't mourn it beyond getting mad about the time/energy/money that just went down the drain.