Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
From my supplier I picked up NUCS this year. I’ve bought packages before, but this is my first time for NUCS.

Before I ordered the NUC, I asked a lot of questions – equipment size, frame exchange etc.

This week I picked up my NUCS and brought them home. These are 4 frame nucs. What I got with each NUC was an average of 1 frame of brood, 1 frame of stores and 2 frames of drawn comb. What was a surprise to me is that the NUC did not have a laying queen, but a packaged queen still in the shipping cage. This was not a question I thought about asking.

I don’t feel this was worth the difference in cost from a 3lb package.

Is this common to get NUCs without a laying queen? Personaly it was the reason I bought NUCs

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
I have a buddy you bought 4 nuc's last year, alll came with a frame of eggs. So I guess you did better than that, however a package queen is not what I want in my nuc's. I would ask that you list the supplier so others know what to expect if they order from there.

·
Registered
4,265 Posts
I believe that few people would consider that a nuc.

I hope it was packed full of bees...

Do you think it might equal a two pound package?

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
All of the nucs I have purchased have always had a laying and accepted queen, thats why you buy a nuc!!!!! The idea is to bring a nuc home and very quickly if not imediately put it in full sized box. IMO they are light on the brood also, should have been at least 2 frames of brood.

·
Registered
4,265 Posts
Anyone ever consider that the queen might be in a cage so she doesn't get squashed in the transportation phase? :doh:
Yes.

I received three 5-frame nucs like that but they were also full of brood and bees.