Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been keeping bees since 2010. Last year I lost my only 2 hives. I've ordered a package which is scheduled for pickup in April. I have plenty of boxes, frames (new and used). For feeding I have a top hive feeder and several jars.

I'm trying to remember back to 2010 when my mentor helped me with my first install. I recall the dumping of the bees into the box and he did a manual release of the queen. The bees did accept her. What I don’t recall is when we started the feeding. I know we used the top hive feeder, I just don’t recall if we put it placed it on the hive at the time the bees went in or came back the next day.

With the manual release the queen is already in place so there is no need to check her in a few days. If I place the top hive feeder on the time of install, won’t there be lots of bees on top of the frames to deal with? If I strap the queen in her box to a frame and place the top hive feeder, then I’ll have to move it to check her release in a few days.

Wish I could remember the process better.

Looking for recommendations and what worked for you.

Thanks

Jim

·
Registered
473 Posts
I would not do direct release with an expensive mated queen and without backup queen or eggs. Most full-proof way to install a package:
1. Setup a 10-frame box with 5 frames on one side of the box (drawn or with foundation). Leave the other half of the box empty.
2. Remove queen cage from the package by lifting the feed can quickly. Set the feed can back in the hole after removing the queen cage.
3. Uncork the candy side of the entrance on the queen cage.
4. Hang (and optionally staple queen cage strap to top bar) the queen cage between two frames near top bars, entrance facing down.