Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased three 5 pound packages in may. I installed them and left them for a week. I checked and found the queen box empty saw no eggs. The next time I opened them up was two weeks later, bad weather wouldn't allow me to get in any earlier. When I opened them up I found only drone brood in all of them. I couldn't find a queen in any and assumed that she was gone. I waited a little longer just in case and nothing changed. I talked to the guy that I got the packages from and he said that maybe a worker took over as queen, in all three hives. I was told that the only thing that I could do to rectify this situation was to take the hive apart remove all the bees and that they would all return except the worker queen. I purcased new queens and waited a week. I opened them up to find no bees at all. I have been doing this for 12 years and have never experienced anything like this, Any feedback?

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
many are reporting "absconding" from shook packages and even swarms. the whole story is not known, but the are several known reasons. i suspect most originate in genetic traits. sorry for your loss.
good luck,mike

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
My six packages this spring were a disappointment. They were loaded with dysentery, though it cleared up quickly. 2 of the packages proved to be strong, the rest dwindled. 2 were requeened in time to save and one strong hive was split and a new queen added to the split. Some of the hives were here in Maine and some in NY's Hudson Valley, so it was not all climate-related issues.