Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I caught a huge swarm about two weeks ago. We are on good weather and strong flow. They are absolutely booming. Just did a thorough inspection and found eggs and/or capped brood on 13 frames. They are drawing new comb like crazy to keep up with the queen.

Now I want to give the OTS queen rearing a go to create nucs for overwintering. I was going to split the hive 4 ways. Is there any reason not to do that with a freshly established colony?

Advice is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Thucar, Keep in mind that the creator of the OTS system does that kind of splits on an over wintered hive. IF your swarm is brooding up lilke that and you'd like to split it I might split it in half and over winter the 2 hives then in the spring you can aggressively split it following the OTS system. I've been studying his system for 3 years, have read the book several times, and this is the second year that I've used the system. My advise is just what I would do. Feel free to do whatever you desire. Just remember if you do split it 4 ways to feed the weak splits plenty. Enjoy your bees!

·
Registered
1,649 Posts
Also keep in mind that there might not be an ample amount of nurse bees to properly feed the queen cells. You might want to wait for a round of brood to emerge to avoid a supercedure event down the road.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the replies. I only now noticed I had posted this in the wrong section. I could have sworn I was under Splits&Combines category... If a mod could move it to where it belongs, I would be grateful.