Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I build my own equipment and Ive never used osb in anything yet I need to make 20 or so telescoping covers and I was thinking about using it using it for the top board which would get covered by aluminum. Is this stuff bad for bees? Any thoughts on this? I got a ton of it around.:scratch::scratch:

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
there are different grades but most will swell 2-3 times it thickness after getting wet. best use is the inside wall of your honey house'

·
Registered
764 Posts
I use it, though I'd rather have plywood, if they were the same price, but since I'm a cheapskate I use osb, I don't have problems with the edges swelling because I nail 1x2s to the edges and then put two coats of paint on all outside surfaces.

·
Registered
5,183 Posts
It will kill your bees. I've been using tops and bottom boards made out of it for 5 years and I expect my bees to start dying any time now.

;)

It's not my first choice but it will certainly work.

·
Registered
7,861 Posts
I had them for 2 years already and they are still holding. Before painting them put 2 or 3 coats of water
repellent oil. They will last longer this way. I use screws instead of nails to hold everything together. No
rust with the screws in case of contact with the rains.

·
Registered
4,231 Posts
I made about 30 tops and bottoms out of AdvanTec last season. Some I painted, some were left bare, and a couple I put AL sheeting on the top. As expected the bare top weathered the worse, but still not too bad, followed by the painted, with the best being the ones with the AL. Its really nice stuff since it is rock stable - no warping at all, unlike plywood. It is heavy, but I see that as a bonus since its less likely to blow off. No ill effects to the bees.

·
Registered
33 Posts