Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What a day I just order all my Bee Supplies from Brushy Mountain Bee Farm today. I have to pick up my Bee package "Cordovan" on May the 24th. I am just a newbie. to all of this Beekeeping. All I can do for right now is just wait for the day I pick up the Bees Package. :lookout:

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
If you plan on painting the hives, you can do that. Be sure to paint just the outside surfaces. Also, you can make up a batch of sugar syrup so it is at room temperature when you install your packages. I have found that putting a five pound bag of sugar in a one gallon jar then pour a tea kettle full of water over it stirring until clear works well. Good luck. Beekeeping is great fun. Much more interesting than chickens, goats, dogs, cats, reptiles, fish..... You get the idea.

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I have the Mann Lake top feeders. They work well for me. Which one did you go with? Plastic or wood? Center or end access? The top feeders seem to work much better than the Boardman entrance type feeder that came with my first hives.
Have you figured out how you are going to install your package?
Starting out with one hive is more difficult than two. It is doable though. It is easier if you have two hives to compare their progress.
What other equipment have you purchased for your hive configuration? I figure that you are going to use all ten frame equipment.
It seems as though most Beeks are getting away from using any treatments at all. I know I am. You may want to use the search feature on the toolbar above to look up threads regarding Fumagilin-B. That way you can get a bunch of opinions before making any decisions.

·
Registered
54 Posts