Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie (2nd yr with bees), and have two hives. One is a new swarm I caught a few weeks ago, the other is what I believe to be the hive that the swarm I caught came from. New hive has one deep brood, one medium super, and a top feeder (which I'm about to remove). The old hive has two mediums for brood and one medium super. Both have a queen excluder, everything is 8-frame.

This morning I wanted to check the brood section of the new hive. Took off the feeder, removed one super frame, and found partially drawn comb. Prolly normal, as the super has only been on for about a week. When I removed the super the girls seemed to get louder. Gave the brood top a few puffs of smoke and proceeded to remove a frame. When that frame came out, it was on. They seemed to be emptying out of the brood box and covering me, clearly agitated. I quickly inspected that one frame (saw no brood but a little capped honey), slipped the frame back in, replaced everything as quickly as possible, and got out...chased by bees for 30' or so from the hive.

Last weekend I had a similar experience opening the other (old) hive. But this morning's attack was more severe.

It's frustrating to watch folks on youtube opening hives with shorts and t-shirt, sticking their hands in and having their sweet little girls lovingly crawl around their hands and arms. If I didn't have my full bee suit on this morning I'd be swolled up in a hospital somewhere. :(

I believe a hive under stress will be agitated when the hive is opened. So maybe both of my hives are stressed. But I have never been able to open my hive(s) without some kind of dive-bombing from the girls.

I'm not sure I have a question. Just lettin loose some frustration I suppose... :kn:

That is all.

- djb

·
Registered
6,034 Posts
It's frustrating to watch folks on youtube opening hives with shorts and t-shirt......
- djb