Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year beekeeping. So I'm pretty new. I have two hives, that I started at about May 20ish. I started with two nucs, both with different variety of bees. (the strong hive is Buckfast, the weak; Carolina) Can I still transfer frames to each hive even though they're both different type of bees?

Also,
How do I know when to stop feeding the bees with sugar syrup. I fed them about 3/4 gallon, the buckfast sucked it up in about 11 days, but the Carolina only sucked up about 75% within those 11 days. Both bees filled a whole entire frame full of sugar syrup, maybe more, and they were drawing more comb out. Should i keep feeding them until they lose interest?

Thanks for all of the help.
Tim

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Can I still transfer frames to each hive even though they're both different type of bees?
Yes.

Also,
How do I know when to stop feeding the bees with sugar syrup.
For new colonies that are drawing out foundation, I keep feed available until they have drawn out two deeps. I may stop sooner if I begin to see plenty of capped honey (syrup) which tells me they have enough stores to last awhile. Basically, I want them to have food available so that if there's a week or two of bad weather, they can keep busy drawing comb.

·
Registered
220 Posts
I switch a frame of Carniolians to a hive of Italians and it is interesting to see the mix of bees comming out of the front of the hive.

One thing I try and do when feeding is gage how much they will use in about 3 or 4 days and that way I can give them fresh syrup more often. I have 2 hives that are consuming about 1 quart per day and they are 4 weeks and 6 weeks old. They really suck it down when building comb and raising brood. Keep feeding.

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
depends on why one nuc is weak.
Is it weak because it has an older queen? then pinch and add a new queen
Is it weak due to nosema?