Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year of beekeeping. All of the books I've read say to start with two hives. Some long-time beekeepers in my local association says it's a good idea to start with two. My supplier, on the other hand, who has been in the biz for decades says one to start is best. Any advice from you beesource folks? Thank you in advance for your input!

·
Premium Member
9,105 Posts
I agree with the 2 colony start. Big advantages
to be had with balancing and other manipulations.
Twice the fun;)

If you accidentally kill a queen you can put a frame
of eggs into the queenless hive and they'll make a
new one. Many other advantages too.

I can't imagine a supplier recommending one, but...

·
Registered
717 Posts
The cost of starting 2 hives is no different than renovating 2 bathrooms of the same size. Sure, you can use the same pipe wrench, and tile trowel and soldering gas and hammer, and hive tool and smoker and veil... , but ya gotta figure on double the cost.

But there is no more hopeless feeling than needing something and knowing you can't get it - in time or at all.

I mistakenly started with only 1 hive last year and when they started failing late winter, there was nothing I could do about it. I'm in the process of ordering more bees and equipment (painfull), but I already have 20 frames of drawn comb to use (plus the 5 I'll get with the nuc) to create 2 hives this year.

If you're apprehesive about the operation, probably 1 is a good way to go - if ya like it, you'll save the money this year, but spend it next.

·
Registered
546 Posts
When I started, I started with one hive. I wish I had started with two, as my only hive went queenless during summer. Hindsight is 20/20! I would recommend two, but if you can only afford one, don't let that discourage you. When I started, I just couldn't afford 2 hives...