Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,885 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'll try and explain this the best I can. A package I installed in march I was inspecting. My last inspectiontion was 3 to 4 weeks ago. I usually inspect once a week or every 10 days. This hive is single deep hive. I pulled the cover off and it was loaded with bees. I pulled out 1 frame against the side wall. Not too much on it. Its expected to look like it did. I pulled frame after frame looking at it my 4th frame I found a queen cell. Wasnt there last time. I pull another frame and I see 4 more QCs. As I look I see a nice looking hazelnut color queen walking around. I see the bees all mounded up in 1 spot so I blew a good breath and they open up. They chewing open the QC. I watch, it's my first time seeing a queen emerging. I use my knife tip and open the hole better. She comes out. Looks exactly like the one I seen 10 mins earlier. I see the bees all mounded up on 2 more spots. I blow they move it's a QC. I tear it out. The last one I found I tore out. Qcs all gone. So I'm just watching the 2 new ones they are just walking in circles looking. Then all of a sudden I see nice big fat queen walking into view. Wtf!!! 3 queens. So I do everything needed to add a second deep box . I checked board it. Then I put it back together. Like I said this is the first
time seeing all I did. I'm confused about what I should do. Should kill the new queens. Make small split. Kill 1 and leave original queen in hive? I know I need to act somewhat fast. I'm hoping they mate for a few days to buy me time. What advice do have ?
Just for information
I have 8 hives at the present. I can start a new hive but really dont want to.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,183 Posts