Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to bkeeeping, so if this is a stupid question just say so.

I bought what was supposed to be a 1 deep working hive and a couple of nucs (already into deep hives) at the beginning of May....just enough to really get me hooked on bee keeping. The nucs seem to be doing fine, but the working hive seems to be slower getting started.

Now I'd like more hives. Can I take one frame of capped brood that includes some new eggs from a stronger hive, a frame of pollen & honey and pop them into a nuc box and hope they queen themselves? What are the chances of success in doing this? My only concern is to be sure and leave the old queen at home..... ?

·
Registered
535 Posts
You can do that. You chance of success is near 0 possibly lower.

It takes lots of bees the right age to feed a queen cell until its capped. Once capped two frames of bees can keep it up to temp until hatching.

I've built lots of two and three frame nucs and let them raise their own queen. They all failed before fall.

Five full frames of nurse bees can raise you a good queen but your best queens will be built by the hive.

Take your old queen and three frames of mixed brood and put in a nuc. Make sure the hive has frames with eggs to make a queen from.

I use the calendar at (the bee yard) to tell me when to do what. If I only had resources for one hive then I wouldent do anything. If the hive is a double deep full of bees you can take extra cells and start more nucs.

Raising your own queens for splits is really easy. It's something every beek should know. Once you have a few hives then experiment some if you like. This is how you learn.
Woody Roberts

·
Registered
92 Posts