Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a new beekeeper I just picked up my first nuc today, looking forward to the new adventure. When I arrived home after a 75 mile drive I discovered the entrance to the nuc had not been closed when it was loaded into my pickup. It is a plastic nuc body, with a built-in closing device at the entrance. Shouldn't the entrance have been closed by their employee when he loaded the nuc?

I have not yet opened the nuc, figuring I will let it rest alongside the hive overnight and will install it tomorrow. Since I have never done this before I do not know that I will be able to judge how many bees I lost during the trip. What should I be looking for?

It was an expensive nuc and I expect it to perform well, but am concerned about what occurred. I have sent the provider an email about it.

How do you all suggest I handle this?

·
Registered
6,710 Posts
Set it approximately where it will be located and open it now!!!!

·
Registered
7,827 Posts
As Jim said...put it where it where it will permanently go and make sure that the entrance is open. If left closed the bees may overheat and/or suffocate. The entrance being left open for the trip home may not be a big deal. The nurse bees will have stayed with the brood and queen. If you still have a good population when you install it....you should be ok.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
As a new beekeeper I just picked up my first nuc today, looking forward to the new adventure. When I arrived home after a 75 mile drive I discovered the entrance to the nuc had not been closed when it was loaded into my pickup. It is a plastic nuc body, with a built-in closing device at the entrance. Shouldn't the entrance have been closed by their employee when he loaded the nuc?