Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody. I am trying to get a hive this year for the first time. I have been reading a lot mainly on here but have a couple of rookie questions. All help would be appreciated.

1. Do I need to buy a hive stand with the sloped entrance if I am going to elevate my hive on cynder blocks and 2 x 4s ?

2. What is an inner cover for and do I need one of them in S. GA?

3. I have found several posts that refer to a Brodmann feeder not being desirable but can't tell what is.

FYI
I have decided that I want to use all 8 frame mediums for everything. The hive will be located in my back yard.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
12 Posts
I'm a noob! I recommend a beek club, that being said, here's what we're being taught, ten frame, 2 deep supers, 2 med supers, forget the 8, yes you need an inner cover, if your don't any space bigger the 3/8 of an inch they will build comb, put the "smooth" side down you flip it over when you collect honey no you don't need the sloped entrance, use a top feeder holds quite a bit it's plastic and doesn't leak and has less drowning issues, don't have to mess with the entrance of the hive you come up from the back, install your package in, screened bottom board, 1 deep super, top feeder, inner cover, top feeder, outer cover. no you don't need a hive stand,. blocks work just fine, keep reading everything ask Q's and keep reading and find a beek club in your area. you have Rossman apiaries in moultrie Ga, thats were I got my stuff. if you go with 8 and change to 10 and you will, then nothing matches

·
Registered
764 Posts
Hello Ga. Shooter
Our bee club, Coastal Empire beekeepers meet every second Monday at 6;30 p.m.at Kelly tours on highway 80, your are welcome to attend.

·
Registered
1,311 Posts