Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 241 Posts

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok folks, here we go!

Allen Dick has just posted the thought that we need a new thread to get this study going. A suggestion was made that we do some sort of spreadsheet in order to do a scientific statistical analysis of the data posted. So if a spreadsheet is the way to go, help me out here.

Allen, I had thought about doing more of a narrative posting, as I'm not a statistician, and I'm not sure how data from 14-50 hives over a 6 year period would fit into all those little boxes. :scratch: And I don't particularly want this to become a second job for me.

FIRST and FOREMOST! Everyone needs to realize I am NOT a scientist. I'm simply a beekeeper trying to become better at what I do with the bees. I have no desire to become commercial, nor to get a degree in beekeeping. I'm simply doing this as a sideliner to help us all out. If you don't like what Allen and I set up, then simply ignore the thread. Deal?

Now, regarding the parameters of the study:
- I plan to start at the beginning, when I bought my first two packages as I returned to beekeeping a few years back.
- I will post dates, and what I did with the hives.
- I do not have a scale, so I can't do weights at the hive.
- I will post harvested honey from each hive.
- (are you ready for this blasphemy?) I do not currently do mite counts. :lookout: For my purposes, I see no point in it. If they die, they die, since I'm not going to treat for mites. If they die, I didn't want them anyway. It is possible, but not probable, I can be persuaded to change my mind. But only by reasoned, sound logic, and not accusing me of being an ignorant Neanderthal.
- I currently have 14 hives, as I've said before, going to 32-40 this year, and 50 next year or two.