Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few weeks ago I let my smoker go out, in a hurry i didn't bother to relight it and went into a few hives with no smoke, I moved slowly and to my surprise they seemed more at ease with it. I have since noticed that if you get close enough to breath on them they flare up for just a second but settle right down. Now I don't bother to even light it or use suger spray or anything, have ya'll found this to work for you?

·
Registered
58 Posts
I have no first hand experience with it, but I have read that bees like humans can be very grumpy at times and they can get very defensive when they have honey stores built up. I'd recommend following the expert advice regarding smoking the bees before entering the hive and ensuring the smoker stays lit and available during hive inspections.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I heard it described best the other day "Smoking bees is the difference between someone knocking before coming into your house or just kicking in the door", now which way would you be more receptive.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Like a good, compliant new beek, I acquired a smoker last year. I've used it exactly twice, and not at all this year. I have more patience handling the frames than trying to keep the stupid thing lit.

I did my first big inspection on Monday (hint: nice, sunny day) with just a sugar spritzer at hand, and I didn't need to use that either. I *ALWAYS* work my bees from behind, go slowly & smoothly, and try to disrupt their work as little as possible. I had exactly two bees fly up & buzz me, and one returned almost immediately to the hive. The other one left a few minutes later. The rest of the hive never even noticed I was there.

I can see using the smoker if they start getting consistently aggressive, but for right now, I'm leaving it on the shelf.

·
Registered
290 Posts