Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a first year newbie with what appears to be a dead hive. I started mid summer with a 10 frame med nuc and got them built up to another deep before fall. I had to feed sugar syrup heavy into fall to get the last of the comb drawn out. I had not been into the hive since Oct until yesterday. I popped the top cover expecting to see the cluster, but they were all in the bottom box. The temp was only 25, which I realize is pretty cold, but I wanted to quickly throw some fondant on in case they were out of food. What I found was the top box apparently untouched, still capped in all frames. The cluster is in the lower box still on the frames and the lower entrance is clogged with frozen bees. I heard no noise and saw no movement. I am assuming this is a dead hive. What should I bee looking for to learn from this experience and to possibly figure out what went wrong?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Word of an old beekeeper always said " beekeepers don't PANIC"

Well first of all it was 25... I'm sure that your girls are trying to conserve heat by not buzzing for nothing. A cluster does not make a whole lot of noise. Make sure that the entrance is free of dead bees and come back later to see if other bees are close to the exit... Keep your hive closed until it get well over 40. There is no worries that they did not touch the top box... There might be a lot of food in the bottom box... My bees are visible by the entrance. I have a bee shed!

Make certain that they have good wind protection and moisture control... no tarping or plastic wrap...

·
Registered
130 Posts
Find yourself a cheap stethoscope. When you are questioning if your colonies are alive and it's too cold to open them, knock on the side and listen, you'll hear them buzz. If your ears are good enough you can probably get away with just your ear to the hive, I can't hear very well though. Helps put my mind at ease.