Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two eight frame medium hives that I am starting this year. I have two hive setups with three hivebodies and frames. What's the maximum number of frames and supers I should plan on having at the peak of the first year?

·
Registered
635 Posts
The simple answer is MORE. whatever you have, you'll need more. Inevitably, you'll get a hive that will be in swarm prep and you'll have to split, or you'll get one hive that expands so rapidly they'll run out of room. A lot depends on the weather and flow. I'm not an expert. I've only had bees one year, but the difference between colonies can be significant. Of my 6, i had one that never got any further than a single 10-frame deep. Considering it started as a 5 frame nuc, thats pretty pathetic. Another ended up filling 3 deeps. A late summer/early fall feral swarm managed to fill out 2 deeps. There simply isn't a good answer for you.

After a summer of scrambling to make more and more and more hive components to meed the needs of the hives, over winter I made a lot of extra boxes and frames. I'll hang most of them as swarm traps, and use some of them in the yard. if I need more, i can simply make more, or if time presses, i can grab one of the swarm traps and use that.

If three medium 8 frames is about the same as 2 deep 10 frames, you've got a good start. if I were you, I'd have at least 2 more boxes ready to go. This assumes you don;t catch any, or have to split to prevent losing a swarm.

Take this "advice" for what it is though. I've only had bees for one year, so i havent seen it all. I also have a shorter season than you do, so your bees havea bit more time to expand.

·
Super Moderator
11,162 Posts