Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is my first year and I have a few questions. I installed 3 packages on 4/1. 2 in Langs, 1 in a TBH. My "new" bees swarmed from my TBH exactly 2 months after install (this past Saturday). About 50-70% of the bees left with the queen. Maybe from being too hot but I think from over crowding. The queen was a laying fool and the population was HUGE. They had drawn 18 combs and all but 2-3 of that was brood. There's still tons of capped and uncapped brood now and about 10 swarm cells throughout.

Will queens emerge from the swarm cells and fight it out before the workers start to lay? The bees still had the back 1/3 of the TBH to expand. Why would they swarm? I was able to find the swarm in one of my trees and shook it in a box, then transferred that to a new hive body. I then put a feeder with 1:1 on it even though our flow is on. Should I leave the 1:1? I feel like our flow will end soon and I don't want these bees robbing my other hives.

Unrelated, (I'm talking about Langstroth hives now ;)) if you don't use the hole in the inner cover to feed your bees, what's the point of the hole? Seems like a good place for SHB's and there's always some bees that are in between the inner and outer cover. Does it let some heat escape? Should I cover the hole?

Lastly, all of my frames are foundationless (again I'm talking Lang hives now). They drew straight comb for brood but the honey comb is wavy and really thick. Do you guys space your frames wider in your supers instead of flush against each other? Because when I separate and pull frames, the combs are wide enough to be attached to the comb next to it and always tears and honey gets everywhere. I've seen those portable frame spacers in magazines. Are those worth the $20?

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·