Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year at beekeeping and have lots of questions. I have read Beekeeping for Dummies a few times and "How to Keep Bees and Sell Honey" that came with my starter kit. But I have a friend that is in his second year of beekeping and he is geting advice from a seasoned beekeeper and passing it along to me.

#1 Dont feed your new package bees!
(all the books tell me to feed them)

#2 Bees will not make comb past june15 !
(I cant find anything about this statement anywhere, is there fact to this? Keep in mind we live in North Alabama)

Thanks for any advice you can give if statement #2 is true I dont see how my new hive will make it through the winter (I dont think the second hive body frames will be filled out by then). I have been feeding my bees 1:1 sugar syrup and plan on doing that until all the frames ase filled out with comb unless you guyes can talk me out of it.

·
Banned
5,034 Posts
#1..He's full of "not honey" :rolleyes:

#2..He's full of "not honey" :rolleyes:

#1 from me...Feed them until they won't take anymore

#2 from me...They will make wax anytime they need it to store incoming supplies.

·
Premium Member
9,105 Posts
LOL........... This experienced beekeeper is on crack!

I'm with iddee.....

#1 Feed them untilthey take no more or a flow is on. You should have some kind of flow going?? Watch to see that they do not become honey bound.

#2 We'd be in deep do do if they did indeed stop making comb on June 15th (must be a national bee holiday).

My biggest advise (as relitive rookie myself) is to ignore this sausage!!

·
Registered
266 Posts