Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am a total novice that just started with my first TBH this Spring. In many ways it seems the hive is doing great, however I am feeling a little paranoid. I waited a bit too long to check the combs-I thought they looked so nice from the window that I didn't need to disrupt them with an inspection but when I did I found a lot of cross combing in the back. While working on fixing the cross combing one of the combs fell into the hive. Being so paranoid I wondered later if the queen could have been underneath that small disaster. Well it is two weeks later and I don't think I am seeing any new brood. I see a ton of new comb but no brood. How can I be sure if I have a queen or not besides spotting her-which I haven't been able to as of yet?
Thanks for any help you can give me!
Chrissi
Hailey, ID

·
Registered
2,932 Posts
It's always a possibility that the queen was underneath. However if she was laying properly before the "accident", there would have been young eggs for the worker bees to make a new queen. Do you not have any open larvae? How about capped brood? And do you know what a queen cell looks like? They stick out from the comb and look somewhat like a peanut. 2 full weeks is just about the right timing for the bees to have built an emergency queen cell and it's getting ready to hatch (16 days from egg).

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies!
I have capped brood but it looks like no new capped brood-I can't be 100% certain though. I don't see any queen cells-just a ton of open comb. I will look tomorrow for open larvae-I have never noticed that before. If I don't see any new larvae should I order a new queen asap?
Thanks again!

·
Registered
2,932 Posts