Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all,

I'm new to beekeeping/guardianship and am entering this culture in the TBH arena. Just yesterday I attended an all day workshop with WAM and am totally smitten. I do however have a question. I had already purchased a beautiful cedar TBH from Beethinking.com. I love it, however, am now bothered by the fact that the entrances are on the side, not the ends as appears to be the norm. My question is, does anyone here have experience or advise about this? I am totally leaning towards drilling two new entrance holes in the end and plunging up the sides except for ventilation. I would very much appreciate anyones input. Thank you :)

·
Registered
2,907 Posts
Welcome to beekeeping & beesource! I have 3 TBH's from kits from Beeline Apiaries. All of the entrances are on the side. The bees don't seem to mind and you can actually section them off into 3 individual small colonies. I have WAM's book, and I do see where all of his are end entrances. Keep that hive how it is, and build another box with side entrances and watch to see what the differences are.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the advise! I love your quote, "everything works if you let it" my life philosophy is "in all life situations, timing is everything" I'm X-ing off days on the calendar until my first package of bees arrives.

·
Registered
3,082 Posts
Welcome, neighbor!

We're over in Prince William county, and members of PWRBA. Most parts of Virginia have active beekeeping associations where you can attend classes (probably a bit late this year), find a mentor, or just ask questions. Look these folks up: http://www.virginiabeekeepers.org/beekeeping-clubs/beekeepers-association-northern-Virginia. Or, if we're closer, you'd be welcome to cross the creek and attend our meetings just outside Manassas. Our bee class just graduated last week.