Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am new to bee keeping. My husband and I bought three hive three years ago and harvested one time and now had to start all over again :/ I'm determined to learn as much as I can to prevent loosing more bees. We live in Texas and have a small hobby farm with grassfed beef and hopefully honey. :) I would love any advice you can give us!

Our biggest problem right now is we tried to relocate a wild hive from a tree. We bought new queen clipped and marked and transferred the brood and honey comb to the frames. Now the bees are hanging out on the outside of the box. Why? It's been ten days since the transfer date. What's wrong? Is there something I can do? image.jpg

·
Super Moderator
11,032 Posts
Welcome to Beesource!

I'm writing this without being able to see your photo (attachments in the Welcome forum need a moderator's approval). It is possible that the bearding outside the hive is unrelated to the move and the new queen. It could be that the hive is too small, or those foragers have determined that there is nothing to forage.

Did you introduce the new queen in a cage? Have you checked to see that she has been released yet?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to Beesource!

I'm writing this without being able to see your photo (attachments in the Welcome forum need a moderator's approval). It is possible that the bearding outside the hive is unrelated to the move and the new queen. It could be that the hive is too small, or those foragers have determined that there is nothing to forage.

Did you introduce the new queen in a cage? Have you checked to see that she has been released yet?
We did introduce with a queen cage and we made sure she was out last night.
They are in the middle of a hay field with farm land all around. Wild flowers are finished for the season. But there are a few garden near by.

·
Registered
638 Posts