Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year with bees and it has been challenging. My new colony swarmed on Memorial Day and for whatever reason the hive did not re-queen. I just installed a new queen, but even if she is accepted and gets to work right away my workers will age out before the new brood is active. I tried to get a frame of brood from a friend but his hive is also weak. Are there any positive outcomes to this situation? What about the new queen?

·
Registered
Survivor stock & Buckfast in Langstroth 8F’s
322 Posts
I just installed a new queen, but even if she is accepted and gets to work right away my workers will age out before the new brood is active.
There are a few Texas beekeeper’s around here, so when did you introduce this queen would be one question, and what do your numbers look like in the hive? Temporal caste ontogeny or the bee doing certain jobs in a hive based upon age is something that has wide variability depending on the hive. Colony condition plays a huge factor in this. Are you worried about running out of foragers, nurse bees, or all of your dead out.

·
Premium Member
Honey Hive Farms: We deliver bee packages, queens & bulk honey in 8 states
317 Posts
Its all about the timing and space.
You would have to know when the last brood hatched?
Look at the numbers of workers and decide how many frames to give them.
If it were me, I cant see it but if there were a small amount of bees with a mated queen, I would put them in a nuc with a the best drawn out frames I could find so that the queen can lay.
Then I would feed them sugar water 1 to 1 (watch that they do not become sugar water bound)(If they are not taking the sugar water they dont need it)
Then I would also put water in the hive like the sugar water. (in a jar with a lid with small holes in it)
I would make it as easy for them not to travel far to survive.
Also may visit pollen in the hive to help...