Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I installed 2 packages on Thursday evening ... it was my first time, with brand new hives and no drawn comb on pf120 foundation. Everything went pretty much as I expected I think, no major surprises and the queens were alive. I closed the hives up and left them be. I went around today to check them out and I found that one hive seemed to have a fair bit of activity, bees buzzing around it ... the other one not so much. I also noticed that the few bees that didn't make it into the hive from the package tubes, were still in the tubes, kind of clustered together here and there. I dumped them out again around their respective hives in hopes they might find them ... but they looked pretty "sleepy" - perhaps sluggish or even sick (like they couldn't fly).

Anyway, I'm a bit worried there might be some disease there (nosema perhaps?). As a newbie I'm just ITCHING to open the hives, but i'm restraining myself because I don't want to make the mistake of messing with the hives and have them abscond on me as a result. I really want to check if the hive with less activity is fairing OK though ... when's the earliest I should crack them open? I'm thinking i'll wait 3 days, and then do the brief inspection (and release the queen if necessary) which would be Sunday. Does that make sense? If I'm worried about some disease or problem should i check earlier or would that be of little benefit at this point?

Registered
Oh the excitement. The girls are likely just in the equivalent of a huddle mode. If you stay back after the queens are in there and allow them to work their magic, they'll continue to amaze. But right now they ar still sort of humming with the calling of a play in the huddle. That is likely the reason for that appearance of sluggishness.

Have you ever been so happy to see people around you say that their allergies are back? :)

Registered