Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! Noob here with a couple of questions. I ended up buying an established hive earlier in the week from a bee farm. As soon as I set it up I noticed a couple of small holes the bees were coming out besides the front. The first question is should
I switch boxes to eliminate the holes? I have a few spares and figured I should ask as I do not want to mess up the flow. Next question is today was my first examination and I was shocked how established it was. There were bees hatching etc but I could not find the queen but I did not search as hard as I was nervous. As every frame was pretty packed I added a super to the top and switched the boxes as suggested by the farm I bought it from. I did get my first sting also right in the chin as the suit i have the screen hits my chin and I will have to fix that. I removed a bunch of burrcomb but truly did not get a full examination as smoker died 1/3 of the way through and then right after I got stung. I just wanted to get out of there at that point. So I learned a few things, make sure your smoker has a ton of fuel, bring a brush maybe as there was a ton of bees that I could not get off the lid easy and stay calm. I guess the only question is how much would it screw up the hive to transfer the two main brood box frames into two new boxes? Thanks for your help!!

·
Registered
306 Posts
Sounds like you are doing well! I don’t worry about the holes because if the bees will quickly propolis them up if they don’t like them. Never know, it might actually be helping them.

Did you see eggs? If you see eggs or young larvae, you know she’s in there and doing well.

Ryan

·
Super Moderator
5,778 Posts