Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I'm new to bee keeping, have two hives and learning. Just recently found this forum and look forward to learning and sharing with others. I'm in North Florida in the middle of Tupelo gum trees. Looking at this as possible supplemental income (and a way to stay busy) as I retire in two years.

Greg

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes I met Jeff several months ago. Was planning to get my bees in the spring but work schedule delayed my plans. I need to call him and set up an inspection day. I checked the hive I had to requeened and she is gone. No eggs found but three good frames of capped brood and at least 5 day old larva. So she had been laying. There was also plenty of honey. There was a single capped queen cell on the bottom of one frame. So I closed it up and will let the bees work it out.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Mbeck

They are smarter than me!!! :pinch: I'm just happy to see I still have bees, I'm still overwhelmed with just two hives. And if I get away without a stings I'm really happy (they got me twice today). The girls were ill tempered today!

·
Registered
1,978 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Greg. Go slow and easy and you will do fine. Two hives is a good number to have. Next spring you will most likely see an increase in your holdings...have some extra gear for a couple of extra colonies prepared. Get the word out and you might get some swarm calls from folks...and you're own hive's are likely to be doing so well that they decide they want to create another colony. ;)

Best wishes with your new hobby. Oh, and those stings...beware, they can be addictive. :D

Ed

·
Registered
902 Posts
Welcome from NE Kansas Greg! I'm new this year with three hives. This is a great forum for sure, with a lot of experienced beeks who don't mind a question or two.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·