Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to beekeeping and am taking classes. I have a mentor who came out to the hive and he is perplexed as well. My hive is in the woods facing south east and has a good morning sun hitting it. It is made of cedar and one super is oak (free wood). I painted it with outdoor house paint storm coat. It had about 1 and a half weeks to dry.
I installed my bees on a windy evening but it was still warm. That night it got to freezing but the wind died. I purchased my bees from our club. I haven't heard back to find out if anyone else experienced this.
So the next day after installation it was pouring rain and pretty chilly. but not freezing. But I didn't go to the hive while it was raining. I then returned on the third day and they were either dead or in suspended animation. Kind of alive. Not walking around just kind of moving. The queen was dead.
Has anyone ever experienced this before. My mentor said he has never seen this. I am afraid to put any more bees into the hive again. I have no clue what could have gone wrong. They had sugar water available also. But they were all dead within 48 hours. Thanks to anyone who might know what it could be. We also took a sampling and will send it to the inspector to see what they might know.

·
Registered
3,597 Posts
Well don't feel too bad, it took me 2 weeks to kill my 1st package way back in 1992! You don't tell us much about the package. A package would not freeze at 32F or even much colder. If you installed them without a top feeder for two days they may very well have starved. The hive equipment sounds fine, no issue with the paint. Here's a link which I hope will help a great deal.

http://www.howardcountybeekeepers.o...he-public/379-a-year-in-the-life-of-an-apiary

Don't be dissuaded, Watch the video, order some new bees, catch a swarm or get a nuc and try again.

·
Banned
13,203 Posts