Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First year in beekeeping, starting with new frames and foundation. I have two hives, started from nucs I was able to find locally in mid-June after waiting and waiting for packages I had ordered months earlier that never appeared. Given such a late start (completely missing the spring nectar flow) and wanting to build them up to have a good chance of making it through the upcoming winter, I have been feeding 1:1 sugar syrup pretty much non-stop. As a result, each hive now consists of two 10-frame deeps, very nicely drawn with 3 or 4 frames of "honey" (syrup) in each of the deeps near the outside edge of the box, while the 6 or 7 frames near the center are mostly brood with capped honey around the top and side edges. Looks just like the book says it should to me. Also, and I'm new at this, there seems to be plenty of bees around, packed between frames, busy doing their thing.

I'm about to add a medium with new foundation to each of the hives which I hope to use next spring as honey supers for harvesting. If I continue to feed sugar syrup, I'm assuming they will draw out the comb, then fill them with the "honey" (syrup) as they did with the deeps, along with some brood.

Over the winter, will they then use up this "honey", leaving clean drawn comb so that come time for the spring nectar flow I can expect honey that is not contaminated with sugar syrup? Am I correct in assuming what is in the frames now is not honey since it didn't come from nectar, but sugar syrup instead? What am I missing in how to obtain clean drawn comb for honey supers?

Thanks in advance. I've already learned so much from lurking on this forum for the last few months.

·
Super Moderator
10,457 Posts
welcome dmr!

i'd check with some of the experienced folks up your way for more relevant suggestions than what i could offer but,