Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been keeping bees now for 4 years and have all my hives in my back yard. However, I got a good place out in the country just 7 miles away so I'm going to move everything out there. Any suggestions on making the move as easy as possible? Right now I have 11 hives, and each hive is overwintering in three mediums. Temps getting into the 40's and 50's so I figure the clusters should not be too tight for me to just pick them up, put them into the back of my pickup and haul them out to the new site. I appreciate any advice you can give.

·
Registered
706 Posts
hey great you got a new bee yard just make sure you have stappled the hive bodies togeather and put on moving screens on the entrance have some one help you move the hives and secure them down good in the truck your moving them in. and all should be good.

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
I've moved some of my hives...and I hate it. The first bunch I did at night. Bad idea. You can't find anything you lose in the long grass. Bees also crawl into every crevice and crease of your bee suit.

The second bunch I screened off at night, moved during daylight hours. Much better, but still too much heavy lifting and you really, really, really need to strap them down into your truck or trailer.

An old fireman once told me, regarding rope and tyeing down loads: "If you can't tie a knot, use a lot." Don't think one rope or strap is enough, and use hive staples on all four sides, along every crack between boxes.