Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok,

So I'm not very constructed minded. I work in the IT field if that tells you much. I'm wondering what I can do to stabalize these 4x4 's on the blocks so they don't shift or roll over. Any comments welcome. You can click on the thumbnail for a larger picture.

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
What about sliding front to back off the block. That's what I'm mainly concerned about. Especially on the high end.

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Danno I would but that starts getting deep into a valley where moisture could get worse. Right now they are located in the middle of the ridge facing southeast. There would be a lot of shade further down also.

Thanks for the suggestion.

·
Registered
854 Posts
Looks very nice but would not use that for holding hives. :lookout: 1. It limits the number of hives a beekeeper may want. 2. The hives are too high to work comfortably and with stability. 3. Drifting because of eventual closeness of hives. 4. Working one hive will transmit vibrations to the next hive... IMHO it would be better to sit each hive on a seperate set of cinder blocks, which would be sitting level in the soil at various positions. As tempting as it is to many beeks, using pressure treated wood may not be healthy for insects, esp. bees. OMTCW

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
I agree with Cedar Hill. The hills I have my bees on aren't as steep as yours, but I put my hives on their own stands, leveled into the ground. Much more stable, and I can get around each one safely. Just think, if you have a good honey flow, how many supers will be on top of your downhill hive? Can you reach up that high? Assuming that would be a very pleasant problem to have!
Regards,
Steven

·
Registered
183 Posts
The lay of my land is like that in your photo.

Can you move your stand to the top of the ridge and still have excess to them?

·
Registered