Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I've been keeping bees for 4 years and always considered that bearding was normal and nothing to worry about. But I got to wondering lately what I can do so those bees stay in the hive working and productive and not hanging outside where they have nothing to contribute. Do they leave the hive to allow better airflow when it's hot? Are there simply far more nurse bee numbers than required to tend to the brood? Does anybody else believe with good cause that massive bearding can and should be mitigated to get the most out of the colony's population?

·
Registered
825 Posts
Personally I don't think bees ever have 'nothing to contribute'. They are usually always doing something, even when outside. Sometimes they are guarding, sometimes washerboarding, helping to ventilate, etc... Foragers will often hang out outside, especially in the warm weather (you will see this even more so at night). As long as you are providing them with ample room in the hive, they will do whatever needs to be done for the colony, which may include waiting outside at night to get the fastest take off as soon as the sun begins to light the sky. The colony is giving all they've got. Don't look at the ones outside like they're lazy...they have a purpose out there, too.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Foragers will often hang out outside, especially in the warm weather (you will see this even more so at night). As long as you are providing them with ample room in the hive, they will do whatever needs to be done for the colony, which may include waiting outside at night to get the fastest take off as soon as the sun begins to light the sky.
I know the bees aren't lazy! I just want to make sure the beekeeper isn't cramping their style.