Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first year with bees and i think i am in about the same situation as the "honey bound" post. my deep is full of brood, pollen and honey however they never drew out 2 and 1/2 of the frames.
my super which i am using as a second brood chamber has lots of capped honey no brood and has 4 frames not drew out.
i added another super to keep them from running out of room. looked in on them today and noticed they were bearding on the hive just like they usually do before dark but it was 11:00am and a nice day. opened the hive and its full of ladies who were not real happy to see me and i noticed that they had not drew out any frames in the new super or any more frames in the others they were just like the last time i was there when i added the super about 2and 1/2 weeks ago. they were all over the foundation in all 3 parts of the hive but no wax production.
should i be feeding them to help out on wax production?
also when i put on the last super i put it between the lower deep and the super that was already being packed with honey { no queen excluder } was this the right placement or should it have been on top?
thanks in advance for any advice
flatfootflukey

·
Registered
371 Posts
try moving some of the undrawn frames in the bottom box up to the brood nest, but not into it. putting their honey and pollen stores on the other side of an undrawn frame might help in getting them to draw out more comb. The same can go for the super on top, move some undrawn frames to the center and put capped on the outside.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the info NY BLUES
i will give that a try.
would it be best to do it tomorrow or just wait till my next inspection?

·
Registered
55 Posts