Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have lost sleep for two weeks on this and am really trying my hardest to do my best for these girls. One year old beekeeper, only have two hives. One was successfully over wintered from a May package 2013, one is a new April package. Both are now queen less with laying workers, assumed. I have two mated queens arriving tomorrow via post and am so worried to make a wrong move.

The over wintered hive: was going strong considering our horrid Midwest winter. I saw brood, eggs in April when I checked on the new package install. I am not good at spotting queens. So I wear a headlamp and make sure I can see eggs, larvae etc. I was not worried about this hive.

New package: installed April, queen released day two, never took off. Weak queen, or something happened to her. Tried to ride it out since I don't like to intervene, and am trying to learn to take a more natural approach, and let the bees do their work. In May: noticed spotty drone brood, but only single eggs laid in cells, and all centered and upright. It threw me off and made me doubt that it was laying workers since everything I read said LW lay multiples, willy nilly. Still, thought maybe my package queen was not successfully mated, and I would be patient. Checked in another week: same thing, only this time I did see 2-3 eggs in a very very few cells. Decided to do something this time, and so I looked through my over wintered hive for donor brood. To my surprise, this hive was in decline, with similar,ar drone brood patterns. Even so, I found two frames with open brood, eggs on it to give to the weak package hive. The only challenge was that the frames each also hadvthreecappedcqueen superceedure cells. I didn't feel I had another choice,